Hello again, Bowling Green

Welcome all to the early version of my blog.

As you can learn from my “About Me” section, my name is Zach Greenwell, and I’m the newest sports reporter at the Bowling Green Daily News.

I’ll officially begin at the BGDN on Monday, when I’ll come on as the new WKU women’s basketball beat writer and high school sports reporter.

I’m equally excited about covering both levels, and I’m proud to take over the Lady Topper duties from my good friend Micheal Compton as he becomes the new preps head honcho.

Obviously the Lady Topper updates will be few and far between for now with the season so far away, but I’ll have any updates here as they become available.

I’ve covered the WKU women once before, as I chronicled the 2009-2010 season for the College Heights Herald, WKU’s student newspaper.

I followed that by covering football and men’s basketball at the Herald, and that’s allowed me to become very acquainted with the Bowling Green sports community. I also had the chance to work basically every day with the recently-departed Nick Baumgardner, who I learned quite a bit from as a student.

A little more about me — I graduated from WKU in 2011, grew up in Brandenburg, Ky., and spent two months after graduation as a reporter at the Madisonville Messenger.

It’s only been two months since I packed up and left Bowling Green, but I’m very glad to be returning so quickly.

For now, you’re mainly going to find high school updates on this blog. I’m not sure exactly what the coverage will include, except that you can expect extras and additional thoughts from the games I’m assigned to cover.

I’ll also have any breaking news here as it arises.

I covered Greenwood’s football game against Meade County tonight as a tune-up of sorts for my official start at the Daily News on Monday, and I’m planning to write a short blog after this about that contest.

I’ll also pass along some contact information early next week for anyone that wants to dish out a compliment or a criticism. It’s all welcome, as I truly believe that I need to hear from readers in order to do my job the best way I can.

But until then, take care.

Leave a Reply

