Jeffersonville (Ind.) senior Jalynn McClain talks ACL injury, WKU commitment

It’s all about a positive outlook for Jalynn McClain.

The senior forward at Jeffersonville (Ind.) averaged 15.6 points and six rebounds as a junior and has verbally committed to Western Kentucky, but there’s still a long road ahead.

After giving her commitment to the Lady Toppers at the end of June, the 6-foot McClain suffered an ACL tear in her knee in July.

The minimum timeframe for return from such an injury is typically six months, and McClain said she’s hoping for a similar timeline with strong rehab.

She talked Monday about the difficult journey back to the court, having just left the gym from a workout.

“I’m just trying to movitate my team and build up our confidence,” McClain said. “At the same time, I’m trying to get ready for Western. Depending on how everything goes, I should be back in January, but I’m in therapy right now.

“It’s hard, but I try to be positive about it. Everything happens for a reason.”

McClain was a key piece for a Jeffersonville squad that went 28-2 last season and won the Class 4A Indiana state championship. She shot 56 percent from the field, but said she was working to improve her outside shot before her injury.

“I’m very strong and aggressive,” McClain said. “My main strength would probably be rebounding. One thing I’d like to work on is playing outside. I’ve played outside, but I’d like to get more comfortable out there.”

McClain, who said she’s not certain yet if she’ll officially commit in the November early signing period, will be visited Tuesday by WKU coach Mary Taylor Cowles.

Her relationship with Cowles has been one of the most pleasant parts of her recruitment, McClain said, along with the program’s location.

“One thing that really attracted me was the way Coach Cowles is with the girls and the team,” she said. “Another thing was that it’s not far away. It’s far enough from home, but I still want my family to come see me play.

“On that visit, I felt at home. They were all nice, welcomed me and made me feel comfortable.”

McClain is the second confirmed verbal commitment in WKU’s 2012 recruiting class.

Green County’s Micah Jones also committed in the spring. Jones has also dealt with a knee injury, missing her junior season with an ACL tear.

Leave a Reply

