Postgame: Lady Toppers beat KWC

The Lady Toppers outscored Kentucky Wesleyan 47-28 in the second half, cruising to an 84-59  exhibition win Sunday at E.A. Diddle Arena.

Senior forward LaTeira Owens led the way with 26 points and 11 rebounds, while senior forward Keisha Mosley finished with 20. The pair were a combined 17 of 25 from the field.

Freshman guard Alexis Govan had eight points, three rebounds and three assists, while sophomore Chaney Means had five points, seven rebounds and four assists.

Teranie Thomas had seven points, and Chasity Gooch had six points and four  rebounds.

All 15 players on the roster played, and 11 different players scored. WKU opens its regular season Saturday at home against Towson.

Some notable quotes from the postgame interviews:

Coach Mary Taylor Cowles, on being challenged by KWC:

“One thing we really wanted to do was bring somebody in that we could compete against, and somebody we knew that had experience and talent. I really appreciate Kentucky Wesleyan coming in and giving us this opportunity because I think they were able to exploit some weaknesses that we have.”

On defensive struggles:

“I thought our help-side defense was probably our biggest weakness. We were really not communicating defensively, and that’s a little disheartening because we work on it a lot. They set a lot of screens, and we didn’t communicate well through them, and they hit some big shots.”

On the play of the freshmen:

“They’re on the big stage, they’re in college, they’re in Division I, but I think they were great. I don’t ever think we saw the deer in the headlights look. It’s just going to take a little bit of time for them to get comfortable, but I’m very proud of them.”

Senior forward LaTeira Owens on first-game jitters:

“I was nervous, so I know other people were nervous too. I think it was the nerves, and in the second half, we kind of talked about what we needed to work on before the coaches came in. We said the first half was over and we needed to come out and play our game in the second half.”

On Keisha Mosley still adjusting her post game:

“We always mess with her about coming from the Big Ten. We say, ‘Beasty down there, you need to calm down a little bit.'”

Senior forward Keisha Mosley on her footwork:
“Coach Cowles and my teammates always stress it in practice. ‘Keisha, make sure you’re not traveling,’ or, ‘Keisha, watch your footwork.’ I play close attention to that.”

On adjusting her play:

“I feel like I’m fine now. Ever since last year, playing the whole year, I think I kind of adjusted well. Playing with them is great, so I adjusted.”

On the team’s defense:

“You’ve got to come in and look at the Xs and Os that we messed up on, and that was one of them. Just knowing where the ball is, help-side, I’m sure we’ll work on that stuff in practice.”

Freshman guard Alexis Govan, on playing her first game:

“I had a lot of fun. With the seniors that we have, their energy rubbed off on us. As soon as I got on the court, watching LaTeira and Keisha, I was energized. I was ready to go. It was a lot of fun.”

Leave a Reply

