WKU signee Micah Jones comments on Mary Taylor Cowles’ firing

Green County senior guard Micah Jones, who signed with the WKU Lady Toppers in the November early signing period, was named the Region 5 Player of the Year today at the girls’ state tournament.

Jones commented on the dismissal of former coach Mary Taylor Cowles and reaffirmed her commitment to the program:

Micah Jones

“It’s upsetting that she’s gone because I really did like her, but we just have to move on and see what happens.”

“Coach Whitaker called me and she calmed me down a little. She talked to me and told me it was going to be OK and that I still had my scholarship. I still want to be here and play for them.”

“When I signed, they told me, ‘You’re signing to play for Western Kentucky. You’re not signing to play for coach Cowles.’ It is about the program. They’ve always had a good program, so we’re going to try to build it back up.”

Leave a Reply

