WKU signee Micah Jones talks about Michelle Clark-Heard, growing 2012 class

I was able to check in today with Green County senior guard Micah Jones, who signed with the WKU Lady Toppers during the November early signing period.

I thought it was important to get the perspective of someone who signed with WKU before the coaching change, and Jones made it clear that new coach Michelle Clark-Heard reassured her of her decision.

Here are Jones’ comments:

Micah Jones

On first conversations with Heard: “She called me to introduce herself, and then I went to Western to meet her in person. She told me about her and that she’s confident that she’s going to turn the program around. She told me to trust her and who she brought in, and that everything would be fine.”

On Heard’s coaching style and personality: “I’m really excited to play for her. She said she likes fast pace and defense, and I like to run and play on the fly. That seems like that’s what she’s into.”

On the new members of the recruiting class: “I’ve played in all-star games with LeAsia Wright and Kendall Noble. I’ve got to know them, and I’ve met Jalynn. I haven’t met Bianca yet, but I really like the group she’s brought in.”

On all of the changes: “I’m excited that it happened now and not my sophomore year. Everybody’s going to be new to it and get used to the changes. We’ll all get used to it and keep getting better from there.”

Leave a Reply

