Mariah Sunkett verbally commits to the Lady Tops

Belleville East (Ill.) High School senior forward Mariah Sunkett has verbally committed to the Western Kentucky women’s basketball program, Sunkett confirmed to the Daily News today.

Sunkett, a 6-foot, 1-inch forward, is WKU’s sixth commitment in the 2012 class and the fourth secured this spring by new coach Michelle Clark-Heard.

According to the most recent stats available for Sunkett, the forward averaged 13.3 points, 8.9 rebounds, 1.9 steals and 1.2 assists as a senior at Belleville East.

Sunkett told me she was first contacted by the Lady Topper staff about two weeks ago. She took her official visit to WKU on Friday and committed the same day.

Sunkett said she wants to sign her letter of intent as soon as possible, likely this week.

Below are Sunkett’s comments on her commitment:

Mariah Sunkett

On Heard and WKU: “I was kind of impressed with the university as a whole. The coaching staff, the players and how the program was ran was great. I liked her vision and how she saw things.”

On relationship with Heard: “It was instant. She was really warming. She was very welcoming and made it feel like it was the place for me.”

On her strengths:”I’m able to run the floor and score. I have good hands, and I think I’m agile for a post player.”

On Heard’s comments about WKU’s style of play: “She said she’s trying to develop a team that can run the floor and is quick in transition. I think I can help do that.”

Leave a Reply

