ACS pitcher Kelsi Pardue wins Kentucky Miss Softball award

As I’m sure most know by now, Allen County-Scottsville pitcher Kelsi Pardue was named 2012 Kentucky Miss Softball on Saturday night, as announced by the Kentucky Softball Coaches Assocation.

I caught up with Pardue, a Western Kentucky signee, today to talk a little bit about winning Kentucky high school softball’s top honor.

Kelsi Pardue

“It’s a real honor, and I hope I can represent well. It’s exciting that I’ve come this far.”

On career, including 2011 state title: “I’m so blessed. Coach Roberts gave me a nice start as an eighth-grader, and that came up to junior year, and winning that title was huge. I went out with a bang. Couldn’t ask for a better career.”

On heading to WKU: “Western is a great school. They have so many advantages for going there – closer to home, and I was really familiar with the campus. The coaches are great, and the team is like a family. I can keep all of my fans over the years be able to drive 30 minutes and watch me. That’s really important to me.”

ACS softball coach Rick Roberts

On Pardue’s award: “It’s a big honor for our school. She’s had a great career. She’s been a major player in Kentucky for four years. I think to be selected Miss Softball, you can’t just have one senior year. You have to contribute over the course of your career, and then have a strong senior season.”

A few notes on Pardue’s career

  • Pardue had 405 strikeouts as a senior, which ranks her sixth on the state’s all-time list. She was 30-5 as a senior with a 0.67 ERA and 94 hits allowed. She also batted .412 from the leadoff spot for the Lady Patriots.
  • Pardue ranks sixth in state history with 1,290 career strikeouts and seventh with 112 career wins.
  • She was named the MVP of the 2011 KHSAA state softball tournament, striking out 39 batters in 34 innings as the Lady Patriots won the state title.
  • Pardue is the second athlete from Allen County to win a sport’s top award. Jim McDaniels won Mr. Basketball in 1967 at Allen County High School.
Leave a Reply

