2013 WKU target Mitchell strongly considering Lady Toppers

I talked today with 2013 recruit Grace Mitchell, a 6-foot-1 forward from Plano Senior (Texas) High School.

Mitchell has been offered a scholarship by Western Kentucky and visited the school last weekend. She was one of three recruits the Lady Toppers had in town, along with Bria Gaines, who committed to WKU on Sunday, and Simone Brown from Florida.

“I liked it a lot,” Mitchell said. “I liked the people there. It was a homey feeling, and the campus was really pretty.”

Mitchell said academics are important to her in her decision, because she plans to get on a pre-med track. She was first recruited by WKU assistant Margaret Richards in April.

“Our relationship is really good, and it’s like I know her now, and coach Heard also,” Mitchell said. “It was good to actually meet them in person after talking on the phone for such a long time.”

Like Gaines, a 6-2 center, Mitchell would provide some much-needed size to the Lady Toppers.

“I’ll give it my all,” she said. “I go 110 percent every game. I’m aggressive, and I come out with the mentality to win every game. I want to be sure at the end of the game that I gave it everything I had.”

Mitchell said her decision is between WKU and Missouri-Kansas City. She’ll visit UMKC the weekend of Sept. 14, she said, and plans to announce her verbal commitment directly after that visit.

As of now, she’ll officially sign with the school she chooses during the November early signing period, she said.

Leave a Reply

