Catching up with former WKU pitcher Matt Ridings

Several former WKU baseball players are joining the radio broadcast today during the Hilltoppers’ game against Bowling Green State at Nick Denes Field.

The first was pitcher Matt Ridings, who’s currently in the Kansas City Royals system. Ridings finished last season with the Class A Advanced Wilmington Blue Rocks, where he made 10 starts and went 6-2 with a 2.74 ERA and 65 innings.

Here are his comments on the pros, WKU and Tanner Perkins’ return from Tommy John Surgery:

MATT RIDINGS

On finishing last season in Wilmington: “I got called up right at the all-star break to Wilmington and finished the year there. I went as a reliever and came out of the pen for a few games, but then we had a guy get hurt and another get called up. Next thing I know, I’m starting. It ended up pretty well, and I’m excited for what this year holds.”

Getting the chance to start: “If it was up to me, I’d rather be a starter. I think my future might be out of the bullpen. My coaches have kind of told me that. They’ve told me the more you can do the better, and that’s how I look at it. As long as I’m out there pitching, I don’t care what role it’s in.”

WKU rebuilding after several highly successful years: “Anytime you’ve got a coach leave, you’ve got a turnover, but with Myers coming in, I don’t think there was that much. I know last year didn’t go as they were hoping for, but he’s excited about this team. I got to work with coach Myers for three years, and he’s awesome.”

Talking with Tanner Perkins about return from Tommy John Surgery. Ridings had surgery in 2010. Perkins returns from the surgery to start Sunday’s series finale: “We’ve got that in common. I’ve been checking up on him and seeing how he’s feeling, and he said he feels great. He asked me for some guidance along the way, but once he gets out there, he won’t even know he was hurt. He’ll see a different batter in the box, and he’ll be ready to go. He’s asked me a lot of questions. I had somebody to talk to through mine, and it’s good to have someone to talk to and relate to.”

Leave a Reply

