Louisville forward Chane Behanan drops in at Bowling Green HS

Louisville forward Chane Behanan, a Bowling Green High School graduate, speaks to a group Wednesday during a surprise visit to BGHS. (Zach Greenwell/Daily News)

Louisville forward Chane Behanan, a Bowling Green High School graduate, speaks to a group Wednesday during a surprise visit to BGHS. (Zach Greenwell/Daily News)

Louisville sophomore forward Chane Behanan – a Bowling Green High School graduate – made a surprise appearance Wednesday at BGHS.

I talked to Behanan for a few minutes about the Cards’ national championship run, his return to BG and his decision to pass on the NBA draft this year and return to Louisville next season.

Here are a few of his comments:

CHANE BEHANAN

What have the last couple of weeks been like? “The last couple of weeks have been tremendous for the city itself, for the players. I’m just trying to grasp it all. We have to enjoy it while we can because we’ll be back to work soon.”

Talk about the support you’ve gotten from the cities of Cincinnati and Bowling Green: “I was Cincinnati, born and raised. I moved here, and both show me tremendous support. I got texts, Facebook messages, Twitter. People told me congratulations. I want to show that I appreciate them from when I was here.”

What went into your decision to return next season, and what are your goals coming back? “I sat down and talked to coach (Rick Pitino), and I decided to come back. I was looking good in the draft, but I want to experience college. I’m in no rush to enter the draft. You only get college once, so I want to experience it as long as I can. The goal next year is the same. I want to win a national championship and keep growing.”

How do you think you grew on and off the court this season? “I think I matured on the court, being a leader. I tried to start on defense first before offense. The offense will come off defense, because you’re going to get your fast breaks, your dunks and your transition buckets. Now, I’ll be a junior. I just have to show my outside game more and expand it.”

What do you think about the response to the way you all reacted to Kevin Ware’s injury? “For those that don’t know me, Kevin is my closest on the team. That experience changed a lot of people over this whole universe. Everyone saw the story. Me personally, I think this will be a book or movie one day. To be the No. 1 of No. 1 seeds and for a player to go down with a catastrophic injury, for us to win it for him, it was big. Like Kevin said, everything happens for a reason.”

Leave a Reply

