WKU’s Quanterus Smith talks about being drafted by Denver Broncos

I talked briefly Saturday with former Western Kentucky defensive end Quanterus Smith, who was selected today by the Denver Broncos in the fifth round of the NFL draft.

Smith is the first WKU draft pick since Jeremi Johnson was picked by the Cincinnati Bengals in the fourth round in 2003.

Smith said he was too nervous to watch the draft today, so he was playing Call of Duty when he got the call.

Here are a few of his comments:

QUANTERUS SMITH, former WKU defensive end

Thoughts on the draft pick? “When I got the call, it was overwhelming when they told me they wanted to get me. It was a great feeling. I guess I’ll have to go tomorrow and get some Denver Broncos hats and stuff.”

How do you feel about the fit in Denver? “I’m excited to go there. I have the chance to play on the other side of Von Miller (18.5 sacks). They’ve got a good program. They’ve got Peyton Manning on the offensive side, playoff team. It’s exciting.”

Thoughts on knee injury, what draft stock could have been without the setback: “It happened or whatever, and it is what it is. But I think in my eyes, I could have been a first- or second-round player. But things happen.”

On being WKU’s first draft pick in 10 years: “Pretty sure it won’t be another 10 years before another one comes, but it’s an awesome feeling. I’m going to try to rep in a big way for Western.”

Leave a Reply

