Recruiting update: South Warren 2014 LB/S Joel Iyiegbuniwe

South Warren junior linebacker/safety Joel Iyiegbuniwe

South Warren junior linebacker/safety Joel Iyiegbuniwe

South Warren junior linebacker/safety Joel Iyiegbuniwe has a solid relationship with Western Kentucky coaches, he says, but other schools are jumping into the mix.

The 6-2, 210-pound prospect  has offers from WKU and Indiana State, and he’s had interest from Indiana, Purdue, Kentucky, Louisville, Middle Tennessee and Cincinnati.

“It’s crazy,” Iyiegbuniwe said. “I’m just trying to process the whole thing and keep my options open, of course. I don’t want to get too carried away, but yeah, it’s been crazy.”

Iyiegbuniwe attended a WKU practice recently and talked with head coach Bobby Petrino and offensive coordinator Jeff Brohm.

“Loved it,” he said. “We had a brief conversation. (Petrino) asked me how I thought the practice went, and I told him it was great. Coach Brohm was great also. I’m pretty familiar with them, and it’s good.”

Many college coaches have come to check out Iyiegbuniwe and junior defensive lineman Adrian Middleton, SWHS coach Mark Nelson. Some want Iyiegbuniwe to come onto campus and work out for them before offering, Nelson said.

Iyiegbuniwe recorded 64 tackles and three interceptions for South Warren in 2012. He also rushed for 486 yards and two touchdowns and caught 11 passes for 189 yards and two TDs.

Iyiegbuniwe will move from safety to inside linebacker on defense for the Spartans next season, he said, to prepare for how college coaches will use him.

“They feel like I can play a little bit of both and switch me around based on situation,” he said. “They tell me they like my work in the weight room.”

Leave a Reply

