Lady Toppers discuss upcoming basketball season

I talked with several women’s players during WKU’s basketball media day Thursday, and there are a lot of quotes. A lot.

Instead of posting everything here, I figured I would post one quote from each of the six Lady Toppers interviewed Thursday. You’ll see plenty of their thoughts on the upcoming season in the Daily News over the next couple of weeks.

Michelle Clark-Heard’s full comments from media day are available here:

 

ALEXIS GOVAN, junior guard

On campaign by WKU and Robert Sampson of media relations to promote Govan and junior forward Chastity Gooch as All-America candidates:

“I always tell (Sampson) that Chas is an All-American, and my teammates are the best. I hate when he does that stuff for me because I really think it’s about my team. We’ve got some talent this year.”

CHANEY MEANS, senior guard

On difference from this time last year to this time this year:

“There was a lot of uncertainty. We didn’t know what we had going on and not a lot of people who played minutes, so this year there’s a lot more experience and people with confidence.”

 

MICAH JONES, sophomore guard

On play of Alexis Govan and Chastity Gooch:

“Their numbers speak for themselves. They work hard in practice, they’re great leaders and everybody looks up to them and tries to follow in their footsteps.”

BIANCA MCGEE, senior guard

On her goals for this season:

“I want to help lead the team to the championship. Nothing specific, but I just want to be here and do whatever the coaches need me to do. Whatever’s going to help us get that championship is what I’m focused on.”

KIERRA MUHAMMAD, freshman guard

On adjusting to Lady Tops’ uptempo style of play:

“It was harder than I thought it would be. It’s similar to how we played in high school, but it’s at a whole other level. My body’s getting conditioned to it, but they expect a little more than I thought they would.”

CHASTITY GOOCH, junior forward

On what’s the next step for her and Govan:

“To get better. We have to go even higher from here.”

Leave a Reply

