WKU running back commit D’Andre Ferby: Petrino’s departure ‘opens my eyes a little bit’

While Bowling Green’s own Nacarius Fant has made his allegiance to Western Kentucky known in the recruiting process, other WKU commits are a little less certain as Bobby Petrino appears to depart for Louisville.

D’Andre Ferby, a three-star running back out of Ensworth High School in Nashville, said if Petrino and Louisville were to show interest, he would likely explore that option before signing day.

The 6-foot-2-inch, 220-pound Ferby said Petrino and assistant Mike Cassity were two of his main influences at WKU, along with running backs coach Kolby Smith, who was a former Petrino running back himself. Smith handled Ferby’s in-home visit.

“Coach Petrino and coach Kolby Smith were probably – along with coach (Mike) Cassity – the main reasons I committed to WKU,” Ferby told the Daily News on Wednesday night. “They were really big on me. Just by them leaving, it opens my eyes a little bit. But I’ve been talking to the other guys, and they seem pretty confident in coach (Jeff) Brohm. I’m just waiting to see what happens. If they come after me, I’ll obviously give it some thought, because it’s coach Petrino, and his history with big running backs like myself.”

Many of WKU’s recruits have shown their support on Twitter for Brohm as next head coach, and Fant said he’s gotten that same vibe from talking to members of the class Wednesday.

But Ferby said he doesn’t have that same personal relationship with Brohm yet.

“I don’t know much,” he said. “They’ve been telling me about him. When we played Trinity, they said he was at the game, and he was really big on me. But I’ve never talked to him through phone conversations.”

Ferby rushed for 1,317 yards and 21 touchdowns in 2013 at Ensworth. He said Petrino often compares him to Michael Bush, the coach’s former running back during his first stint at Louisville who’s currently with the Chicago Bears.

“They were going to give me a chance to come in and play early, and that really attracted me,” Ferby said. “For him to think of me like that was big for me.”

Leave a Reply

