Bowling Green’s Nacarius Fant officially signs with Western Kentucky

Bowling Green's Nacarius Fant signed with Western Kentucky on Wednesday. (Photo by Zach Greenwell)

Bowling Green’s Nacarius Fant signed with Western Kentucky on Wednesday. (Photo by Zach Greenwell)

Bowling Green senior receiver Nacarius Fant signed with Western Kentucky this morning at BGHS.

Here are his comments to the media:

On signing: “It’s a moment I’ve been waiting for, for a while now. It’s finally here, and it’s only going up from here. I’ve been blessed to have all these wonderful people here to support me, and I look forward to going up there and learning from a great coaching staff, playing under some great coaches and learning some great football.”

What made you choose WKU? “The coaching staff. The new coaching staff, the new offense, all the things that have changed around there. With me going up there, I feel at home. All my family can come up and support me. It’s just great to stay home.”

Not going back on commitment: “I wanted to stay true to my city. I felt like me decommiting from Western after giving my word was a bad thing. I’m not a guy who does that.”

His role at WKU: “On my official visit, I had a brief talk with the special teams coach. He wants me to return punts and also be a slot receiver. I’m looking forward to learning how to run better routes.”

Critics saying he’s too small or slow: “I love that stuff. They tell me I can’t do anything, and that’s what’s pushed me this far. I’m a person that likes to prove people wrong. I feel like what I’ve done previously and me working hard for the future is hopefully going to have people not saying stuff like that, but it’s going to happen. I just look forward to working hard and getting better.”

WKU’s recruiting class: “There’s a lot of good athletes in the state of Kentucky who are coming to Western Kentucky. Our recruiting class is solid right now. We have a lot of players – good players at different positions. They might not be five-star players going to big colleges, but they’re players we need to get where we need to be.”

Leave a Reply

