Join the Daily News in making “Gridiron Guessers” football picks this season

High school football is nearly upon us, my good people.

And in the spirit of football’s imminent return, I want to get you folks involved.

The Daily News staff has traditionally predicted 10 games each week in our Gridiron Guessers feature in the Friday edition. We’ll continue that, beginning this week, but I also want to hear from you on Twitter.

If you visit my Twitter page at twitter.com/zach_greenwell, you’ll find that the top pinned Tweet will be the 10 games we’ll be picking each week. I challenge you to Tweet me your predictions for those games, and let’s see who can out-pick our staff.

While I’m sorry to say I can’t offer you a monetary prize for your picking prowess, I do offer this: Each Monday, I write a notebook story looking back at the previous weekend’s high school football action. The Twitter user who guesses the most games correctly will get a shoutout in the Monday story with their Twitter handle published in the print and digital editions.

We also guess scores for these games in the paper, but no need for you folks to do that unless you’re feeling extra feisty.

I will ask for the total points scored in one game each week – it will be South Warren/Warren East for the first week – to use as a tiebreaker.

Keep in mind that your Twitter name will have to be something clean to run in print! 

As the season moves along, some of these games to be picked will be college and NFL, with a healthy dose of high school leading the way. Feel free to use this as a chance to beat us, mock us and throw rotten vegetables at any of the other reporters other than me.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

